Power Breakfast

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. My mom always tells me that I take after my Tatay (Dad), eager to eat minutes after waking up.

These days, I’ve been enjoying oatmeal like never before.

Thanks to the wonderful influence of  KERF.  It’s a blog by Kath, a registered dietician who loves oatmeal and has made many variations of it.

I plan to try all her oatmeal recipes.

I’ve tried the microwaved oatmeal many times in the past but I recently realized that it cannot beat the stove-top version in terms of texture and creaminess.

Old fashioned rolled oats slow cooked in soy milk with bananas and chia seeds, topped with cinnamon and peanut butter.

Peanut butter….yummmm…

33o grams cost Php 90 (USD 2.1). Creamy. Delicious. All-Natural.

Oats + milk + banana + peanut butter make one powerful breakfast already.

To add to the punch is my latest health discovery: Chia Seeds.  Ta dah!

As it is not so popular here in the Philippines, I didn’t find them in the supermarkets I went to (SM, Hitop, Puregold).

Good thing, my sister Sandi suggested that I check Healthy Options. And hurray, they did have it! 453 grams (1 lb) at Php 595 (about USD 14).

Chia Seeds have a slightly nutty flavor and since they become gel-like when mixed with water, they add fluffiness to oatmeal.

No cholesterol, transfat, sodium, sugar.
High in fiber, protein, omega 3 .
One serving (1 tbsp) contains 5 grams of fiber, 3 grams of protein and 2300mg of Omega-3!
Super small seeds. (P.S. Please excuse my dry skin :))

Finally, it’s a blessing to have friends who are health conscious and generous.

Yesteday, our friends, Butch and Pinas gave us our first taste of rambutans this year (’tis the season!).

Boyet and Sussie gave us Guyabano Leaves Tea.

Fresh fruit and fresh leaves tea.
Inspired by KERF again, we use this bottle as a drinking glass
Hairy and scary outside, sweet and juicy inside

Ready to face the day!

Thank you, Lord.

And God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food. (Genesis 1:29)

One thought on “Power Breakfast”

Leave a Reply

