30-Day Challenge: Sleep our way to health, fitness, and beauty

Sleeplessness is not pretty. And I’m not just talking about under-eye circles, blotchy skin and deepened wrinkles.

It can also affect our mind, health, sports performance, mood, and even our weight!

Sleepy from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
Photo credit: disney.wikia.com

I chanced upon Arianna Huffington, a nationally-syndicated columnist and author, talk about the power of a good night’s sleep in this 4-minute TED Talks video “How to succeed? Sleep more.”

I studied, I met with medical doctors and scientists, and I’m here to tell you that the way to a more productive, more inspired, more joyful life is getting enough sleep.

If you can’t get the video above, click HERE.

Here is a partial list of the Benefits of Sleeping:

  • improve memory
  • live longer
  • curb inflammation
  • spur creativity
  • improve sports performance
  • improve school performance
  • sharpen attention
  • have a healthy weight
  • lower stress
  • avoid accidents
  • steer clear of depression

Plus the beautifying effects:

  • a brighter complexion
  • firmer skin
  • fewer wrinkles

Getting enough sleep is easier said than done. There’s that common conviction that sleeplessness is a sign of industry. But  to that I say, “Isn’t our work better when we don’t fall asleep at the wheel?”  Also, work, family, social obligations, and many other things make it difficult for us to getting enough sleep. For me, it’s my late afternoon coffee and my wicked ipad habit at bedtime.

But being reminded of sleep’s profound benefits inspire me.  I’m ready to take the challenge.

For the whole month of September, I will try my BEST to sleep at 10 PM so that by the time I have to get up by 5:30 AM, I would have slept 7-1/2 hours. (The recommendation is for adults to get 7-1/2 to 9 hours of sleep.)

Time to sleep, beauty.

I’m going to study and write about this quest 2-3x a week. I look forward to learning a lot.

C’mon friends, join me.

Let’s see if enough sleep can really make us prettier, healthier, slimmer, and more energetic.

Okay, I have to go now. Although the challenge starts tomorrow, I’m going to try it now. Good night. Sweet dreams.

*******

Follow this challenge:

*******

Last month, I did my first 30-day challenge of blogging everyday. Because of the daily deadline, I experienced the many negative effects  sleep deprivation. Read about it here and here.

In January 2010, Arianna Huffington and Cindi Leive of Glamour took the sleep challenge. Read about it here.

2 thoughts on “30-Day Challenge: Sleep our way to health, fitness, and beauty”

  1. Oh, I so wish I could do this! My nocturnal 10-month old doesn’t think it’s a good idea. I guess I could try to get in bed earlier anyway though! That might give me an extra couple 20-30 minute night naps.

Leave a Reply

