5 Benefits of rising early

Yes, I am now an early riser. Miracles happen! The night owl has become a morning lark! I now regularly wake up at 5:30AM, many times even before the alarm goes off. Nice. I’m very happy about it.

Benefits of rising early:

1. Time for a healthy breakfast. I have a fairly fixed daily schedule and I usually need to be in my workplace at around 10 AM. Waking up early gives me time for breakfast. Because I was always running late, I used to just grab breakfast from the McDonalds or Jollibee drive through or upon arriving at work, have a cup of coffee and a muffin or two. Now, I have time to cook Oatmeal ala KERF and me and hubby get to enjoy it leisurely.

Rolled oats, bananas, and chia seeds slow-cooked in soy milk then topped with muesli and peanut butter. Hot, healthy, and delicious!

2. Time for exercise. Although some people like to exercise in the afternoon or evening, for me the best time is in the morning. It’s easier to be consistent as there are less chances of being sidelined by work, family, or social obligations. Since my exercise is running and biking, I enjoy the almost empty streets, less pollution and cooler temperature. Finishing a workout in the morning also gives an early sense of achievement.

My usual route. The University of the Philippines Diliman Academic Oval.

3. Less Stress. I used to start the day by groggily getting out of bed, late as usual, and rushing to get ready. I drive myself to work hungry and sluggish, grumpily complaining of the slow traffic, stressed at the thought of being late, again. Not a great way to start a day. Now I have time to pray, exercise, and enjoy breakfast. I drive to work relaxed, knowing that because I left early, I’ll arrive to work early. Definitely an improvement!

An average of 2.34 million vehicles go through this road every day, including mine.(Source: Wikipedia August 2012)

4. Better mood. Because I have all of the above, I feel that I’m a much more pleasant person to be with in the morning and throughout the day. I’m more upbeat, more sociable and more patient with people.

5. Better productivity. This is also because of all of the above. More work done, in a more relaxed way.

Can you add more to this list?

************

Read more about this series:

One thought on “5 Benefits of rising early”

Leave a Reply

