My first trail run

What??? It’s November already? Time really flies when you’re having fun.

Well, well, well, I had my first trail run! And it wasn’t just in any trail, it was in  Mount Pinatubo, the beautiful but at one time very destructive volcano.  Running on volcanic ash and debris kept me alert the whole time and I totally enjoyed it!

I say this because, in road runs, I sometimes struggle with boredom and go on automatic mode putting one foot in front of the other.

Volcanic ash and debris (lahar) mixed with river sand. Some parts are soft, some concrete-like. Uneven. Interestingly challenging.

It was painful to remember how horrible this lahar was in 1991. Images easily come to mind: Hot lava, ash, rocks and boulders destroying lives, land, and properties.

Twenty-one years after, the  desolation is still evident. At least, plants have re-grown in many areas.

Blind runner Aga (with black cap) and his teammate and guide Gado impressively navigate the unpredictable.  Read about them here
This river rises when it rains hence the big bridge beyond.

Ninety percent of the run was in the river. Towards the end, we had to run single file through tall grass.

Hubby.
Icing on the cake: Finisher’s medal made of clay and lahar.

Yay! I’m almost 47 years old and I just had my first trail run! I think not a lot of people can say that.

So we had to celebrate…

A Mount Pinatubo replica. Three layers of different chocolate ice cream varieties, topped with chocolate chips and nuggets with overflowing chocolate and strawberry syrup, extending beyond the bowl.

Poignant.

One thought on “My first trail run”

Leave a Reply

