Our simply abundant kitchen

Auntie Joy, I can’t believe that you don’t have a toaster! It’s one of life’s greatest necessities!

My dear 15-year-old nephew was really surprised that we didn’t have one.

Well, we did have a toaster but gave it away when hubby and I started downsizing our home about two months ago.  I found a toaster redundant since I rarely needed to toast anything and when I did, I just used my skillet. (Sample video: How to make a grilled cheese sandwich.)

Taking inspiration from The Minimalists, hubby and I packed almost everything in our kitchen. Two large boxes were quickly filled with pots, pans, utensils, plates, mugs, pitchers, etc.  Then we just unpacked things as we needed them: We needed  bowls for our oatmeal so we unpacked them; I needed to cook noodles, so I unpacked my stockpot; and so on.

It’s been almost two months now and most of the stuff are still in the boxes. We didn’t need them. And I don’t think we will be needing them again. Now they are ready to be sold or given away. In fact, my mother-in-law already “shopped” from the boxes. She’s happy, I’m happy.

We don’t claim perfection but more often than not,  we wake up and see our kitchen counters clear, our cupboards organized, and our pantry basic.

It’s visually appealing — looks bigger, neat, and airy.

It’s easier to clean, of course!

And thankfully, we have that feeling of abundance KNOWING that we have everything we need.

Ahhh…simplicity, you are good! Hubby and I like you.

Related articles from around the web:

What’s in a minimalist kitchen? Check out her list and make your own.

Wash your bowl. This article is simple but very thought-provoking.

A no frills kitchen still cooks. A New York Times article on how to tackle the great challenge  of kitchen decluttering

How to live with just 100 things. This is a bit extreme but motivational.

9 thoughts on “Our simply abundant kitchen”

  1. I should really try this. I have a tiny little kitchen, and never have any room. I’ve been trying to use up the things in my cupboard. I have 3 different pancake mixes up there — crazy! As the space appears, it inspires me to do more.

    1. Yes, I agree. Even little improvements inspire. For me, I have a little tiny bathroom which I really disliked before. Now my philosophy is, what I lack in space, I make up with tidiness and cleanliness. I removed the clutter and saw some space. Very nice!
      Thank you for visiting and commenting.

  2. To take it a step further, have you considered simplifying what you eat? This will in turn simplify what you require in the kitchen. I did that out of necessity when I started working in Africa – the things I’m used to buying and cooking back home are either unavailable or too expensive (because they’re imported from Europe). So I reduced my shopping list to a few staples, and can whip together tasty, simple, nutritious meals in a snap. And the bonus: I’ve lost weight because I’m no longer eating crappy processed food.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

