Enough

If you are an athlete, would this excite you?

It sure excited me before.

Not anymore.

Let me tell you why.

About two years ago, I fell in love with running. Along with that came a love for buying everything related to it: shorts, shirts, socks, shoes, caps, books, magazines, etc, etc. It was so delicious seeing my collection grow.

Add to that all the free shirts and accessories given by the many races I joined.

Of course, I saw how overflowing my closet  quickly became: how I had to push shirts into the drawers because they could hardly fit there anymore and how I had to dump some of them on the floor before I could find something to wear for my morning runs.

I didn’t mind the stress. I was having fun!

Then  one ordinary day, I looked at the hodgepodge and told myself:

ENOUGH.

After a few minutes of sorting, I had tall piles of shirts and shorts. Those that didn’t fit or I didn’t like quickly filled up one large trash bag. They will be given to anyone who wants them or sold in a garage sale sometime soon.

I’m still left with a lot. I’m going through them again within the next few days to see which ones I can still do away with.

Meanwhile, my closet is neater and finding something to wear in the morning is easier.

And in a weird sort of way, now that I have less, I feel more abundant.

Really.

*************

Related posts:

Only the useful or beautiful

Our simply abundant kitchen

Other interesting reads:

A Practical Guide to Owning Fewer Clothes by Joshua Becker

Project 333 by Courtney Carver. An experiment on how to live with only 33 items for three months

7 Steps to a Minimalist Wardrobe by Francine Jay

Favorite Clothes of Minimalists by Joshua Fields Millburn

3 thoughts on “Enough”

  1. Good for you, Joy! Not only for the uncluttering, but also for having the guts to do such a personal blog. AND, for being a 40-something who is taking life by the throat and going for it. Keep doing what you’re doing!

Leave a comment